Policy Changes for 2024

Fallon Marie
4 min readApr 13, 2024
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

To All Current & Future Clients.
Last year, I landed the two biggest projects of my career. I was thrilled. Both projects were long and centered on topics that allowed me to learn. Both were set to pay me two of the biggest paychecks I have ever earned in my career to date. I was learning new things, gaining new skills, and was able to dive head-first into interesting work. It was great.

That is until they both refused to pay me. I e-mailed, texted, and attempted to get payment for services rendered multiple times to no avail. Six months later, I still haven’t received payment. Collectively, these clients owe me $4,500.00.

This has led me to reconsider some major aspects of how I work. I made some mistakes, and those mistakes and this incident have led to me making some policy changes that are effective immediately.

Policy Changes Effective Immediately in April 2024

I will no longer work on third-party apps

This is something I will no longer do under ANY circumstance. It is far too easy for clients to make big promises and disappear on these platforms. It also doesn’t sit well with me that too many platforms “built for freelancers and gig work” set up a race-to-the-bottom model, forcing creatives to cheapen our services to compete. These companies…

--

--

Fallon Marie

She/her ♿️🇺🇸🏳️‍🌈🤘🏻🦋✝️If you can’t stand up, stand out Writer, cat mom, future therapist, Disney nerd. advocate Hebrews 4:15-16.